awakenings 2010 (2019)

awakenings 2010
Download : Released December 2019: Northern Echo Recordings

1. crete with dancing girls (7:36)
2. awakenings 2010 encore (15:24)
3. listening in (part 1) (23:22)
4. listening in (part 2) (29:43)
5. awakenings 2010 main set (1:10:56)
6. awakenings 2010 complete set (1:34:09)

purchase: bandcamp

Before this performance, we were relaxing in a nearby pub when we bumped into a few of our regular concert goers. They asked what we had planned for the evening's entertainment. "Well, first we bring on the dancing girls..." was our sardonic reply.

Except that it was in fact true. Dave B had asked the dance group at the High School venue if they would like to work out a routine to an RMI piece, and we chose `What's The Point Of Going To Crete?', a composition which the band could replicate on the day.

It was quite a novelty upon arrival that afternoon, to hear the CD of our tune blasting out in the sports hall and a rehearsal underway as we peeked through the window. The girls did us proud. You'll have to imagine them.

As well as the main set and encore, also included in this release are two previously unavailable contemporaneous pieces from the preparation sessions `Listening In' (Parts 1&2) which produced the `Eavesdropping' album.

We've included a complete downloadable version of the entire concert in performance order, as well as trimming it to fit 2 CD's..

radio massacre international's sound defies categorization it is more magical than musical. the music is, first and foremost, improvisational. it is loose in structure but also searching. r.m,i. is all about generating the happy accidents that occur at the ever-changing intersection of multiple moving bodies. when two sequences converge fascinating things happen opening rhythmic and textural options that just moments before were closed to view. it is the creation and exploration of those options that dominates what r.m,i. does in its music.