the conspirators (2013)

the conspirators
Download : Released October 2013 : Northern Echo Recordings

1. Hells Bells (Parts 1 & 2) (33.56)
2. Gone West Again (10.26)
3. Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em (16.33)

purchase: bandcamp

somewhat of a dark secret in the radio massacre international pantheon, 'conspirators' came about when an ex-bandmate of steve's, max noble popped round one sunday afternoon in 1995. in those days our hq was in London, which meant that manchester-based gary was not always on hand to play. on this occasion, gary's jam-man had been left set up from the previous day's session, so max brought his telecaster & started to learn the lexicon. several cups of tea and ciggies later, we had this. super-sub max was a founder member of late '80s indie legends "eat", played guitar in "tv eye" alongside steve on drums, & has spent much of his time since then with bristol perennials "the blue aeroplanes".

radio massacre international's sound defies categorization it is more magical than musical. the music is, first and foremost, improvisational. it is loose in structure but also searching. r.m,i. is all about generating the happy accidents that occur at the ever-changing intersection of multiple moving bodies. when two sequences converge fascinating things happen opening rhythmic and textural options that just moments before were closed to view. it is the creation and exploration of those options that dominates what r.m,i. does in its music.