das : x (1984)

das: x
Download : Released January 2014: Northern Echo Recordings

1. Riocot (6.40)
2. Ozone (5.21)
3. Fire and Ashes (7.16)
4. JNT (3.52)
5. BTTH (4.52)
6. Good Friday (17.03)
7. FTS (7.49)
8. Leadmill (4.46)

purchase: bandcamp

the easter project for 1984 begins to hint strongly of the music that the band would make under its later name. with borrowed pro-1, moog rogue & casio-202 in tow, & once again upstairs in the attic studio, we created a collection of sequencer based pieces including the centrepiece "good friday". on a technical note, these pieces were recorded in a ten-day period & consist of a stereo backing-track & a single stereo overdub, using multiple ¼" decks also for tape-echo. the spring-reverb was in a small roland keyboard amp, & we also had steve's prodigy, & possibly a chorus pedal. the backing tracks were usually done in the morning, & the overdubs after lunch, which (most days) included some 80-bob down at the ship-inn. aye.

radio massacre international's sound defies categorization it is more magical than musical. the music is, first and foremost, improvisational. it is loose in structure but also searching. r.m,i. is all about generating the happy accidents that occur at the ever-changing intersection of multiple moving bodies. when two sequences converge fascinating things happen opening rhythmic and textural options that just moments before were closed to view. it is the creation and exploration of those options that dominates what r.m,i. does in its music.