emissaries (2005)

2CD : Released May 2005 : Cuneiform Records : RUNE 211/212

disc one: The Emissaries Suite

1. Seeds Crossing The Interstellar Void (16.22)
2. A Priest Crossing Frozen Water (13.23)
3. Mad Bob's Self-Inflicted Torment (9.58)
4. The Emissaries Reveal Themselves (9.08)
5. The Ice Garden (7.37)
6. A Promise Of Salvation (3:29

Disc Two: Ancillary Blooms

1. An Interstellar Vacuum Is Far From Empty (12.14)
2. Mobile Star Systems (13.02)
3. A Piano Wanders The Inandescent Vapours (11.11)
4. Sympathy For The Bedeviled (9.36)
5. The Arrival Of The Seeds (16.16)
6. Deliverance From Nuclear Winter (14.12)

purchase: discogs / amazon

A flagship release on Cuneiform Records of America, Emissaries was intended to introduce the band to the music world at large outside of the electronic music cognoscenti. This deluxe 2 CD set, features a studio album, a live album recorded at radio station WXPN in Philadelphia during their 2004 USA performances and a stunning cover by cartoonist Matt Howarth. Additionally, the studio album is a CD+ release which provides the buyer with a beautiful electronic comic (in .pdf format), which is viewable on any computer.

radio massacre international's sound defies categorization it is more magical than musical. the music is, first and foremost, improvisational. it is loose in structure but also searching. r.m,i. is all about generating the happy accidents that occur at the ever-changing intersection of multiple moving bodies. when two sequences converge fascinating things happen opening rhythmic and textural options that just moments before were closed to view. it is the creation and exploration of those options that dominates what r.m,i. does in its music.