rain falls in grey (redux) (2016)

rain falls in grey (redux)
Download : Released July 2016: Northern Echo Recordings

1. Drop D (Better Days) Director's Cut (30:40)
2. The Sea (6:31)
3. It's About That Zeit #1 (16:58)
4. Drop D Coda (21:20)
5. Sequencer With Kraut Drumming (12:50)
6. Daft Prog (3:49)
7. It's About That Zeit #2 (29:05)
8. It's About That Zeit #3 (Shut Up) (23:57)
9. Where Were We? (19:40)
10. Quiet One (16:25)
11. Jazz (12:47)
12. Quiet Two (12:05)
13. Space Rock Rebirth/Tribute To Syd (Rain Falls In Grey) (38:15)
14. Quiet Three (Far Away) (31:14)
15. A Million Stars (4:21)
16. Whole Lot More (19:50)
17. Behemoth (12:00)
18. Syd (2:45)
19. Chainless (17:58)
20. Gary's Gliss (27:19)
21. Emissary (11:52)
22. Legacy (14:47)

purchase: bandcamp

the band were just getting ready to start on a new project when syd died. it sort of took over what we were doing, as we began to think of all the things... the styles of music, the bands, & the expressive freedom they enjoyed.... as really being syd's lasting legacy. so the album we ended up with is not directly a tribute, but rather a recognition of what he allowed us to see was possible, musically.

we asked daevid allen to do the artwork for us- there was a strong connection there already, & it seemed apt.

for the tenth anniversary of those sessions, we're making more of the recordings available than we could release at the time.

radio massacre international's sound defies categorization it is more magical than musical. the music is, first and foremost, improvisational. it is loose in structure but also searching. r.m,i. is all about generating the happy accidents that occur at the ever-changing intersection of multiple moving bodies. when two sequences converge fascinating things happen opening rhythmic and textural options that just moments before were closed to view. it is the creation and exploration of those options that dominates what r.m,i. does in its music.